DSHS PHR 2-3 Epidemiology Branch

 

The Epidemiology Branch of the Community Preparedness section provides services to 37 of 49 counties in the North Texas Region (PDF file) by active involvement in core epidemiology functions including:

  • Public Health Surveillance
  • Outbreak Response and Field Investigation
  • Epidemiological Studies 
DSHS PHR 2-3 Epidemiology Staff Contacts
Name Title  Phone E-Mail

Heidi Honza, MPH, CIC

Chief Epidemiologist, Manager

817-264-4550 

Heidi.Threadgill@dshs.texas.gov

David Retana, MPH, CPH Epidemiologist III 817-264-4656
David.Retana@dshs.texas.gov
Thi Dang, MPH, CHES, CIC Healthcare Associated Infections Epidemiologist 817-264-4585 

Thi.Dang@dshs.texas.gov

Kelsey Tatum, MPH, CIC

Epidemiologist II, Vaccine Preventable Diseases Lead

817-264-4569 

Kelsey.Tatum@dshs.texas.gov

Gerline Casseus, MPH

Epidemiologist II, Enteric/GI Illness Lead

817-264-4657

Gerline.Casseus@dshs.texas.gov 

Scott Mize, MPH 

Epidemiologist II, Invasive/Respiratory Lead & Influenza Surveillance Coordinator

817-264-4706

Scott.Mize@dshs.texas.gov 

Steven Pulvino, MPH, CIC, CPH

Epidemiologist II, Disaster Epidemiologist

817-264-4890

Steven.Pulvino@dshs.texas.gov

Joshua Hall, MPH Epidemiology Specialist, NBS Coordinator, Hepatitis B&C Lead  817-264-4639

Joshua.Hall@dshs.texas.gov

Vacant

Epidemiology Branch Administrative Assistant

817-264-4541


 

24/7 Disease Reporting: 817-822-6786    |     Secure Fax: 817-264-4557     |    Contact us at: HSR2-3.EpiReporting@dshs.texas.gov

 Disease reporting contact information for all Region 2/3 Local Health Departments and a list of other DSHS departmental reporting phone and fax numbers can be accessed here (PDF file).

Last updated May 5, 2020