• DSHS HIV/STD Program

    Post Office Box 149347, MC 1873
    Austin, Texas 78714

    Phone: 737-255-4300

    Email the HIV/STD Program

    Email HIV, STD, Hepatitis C, and TB data requests to the Program – This email can be used to request data and statistics on HIV, STDs, Hepatitis C, and TB in Texas. It cannot be used to get treatment or infection history for individuals, or to request information on programs and services. Please do not include any personal, identifying health information in your email such as HIV status, Date of Birth, Social Security Number, etc.

    For treatment/testing history, please contact your local health department.

    For information on HIV testing and services available to persons living with HIV, please contact your local HIV services organization.

Texas HIV Medication Program – THMP Medication Advisory Committee

Texas began distributing HIV medications in late 1987 as temporary pilot program; the THMP was officially established in 1989 in Senate Bill 959. The statute that created the HIV Medication Advisory Committee is found in Texas Health & Safety Code, Chapter 85, Subchapter K, Sections 85.271 through 85.282. Rules related to this Committee may be found in Texas Administrative Code, Title 25, Part 1, Chapter 98, Subchapter C, Division 2, Rule 98.121. Committee members are appointed by the executive commissioner of the Texas Health and Human Services Commission.

Stay informed about the committee by subscribing to the THMP News bulletin

Next Public Meeting

Date and Time: January 28, 2022, 1:30 p.m. CT
Location: John H. Winters Building, Public Hearing Room 125, First Floor, 701 West 51st Street, Austin, Texas 78751
Learn more

Past meetings

Current THMP Medication Advisory Committee Members

Natalie Vanek - Committee Chair
Houston, Texas
Term expires 2020

Frank Rosas - Committee Vice-Chair
San Antonio, Texas
Term expires 2022

Margaret Adjei
San Antonio, Texas
Term expires 2022

Ogechika Karl Alozie
El Paso, Texas
Term expires 2022

Gloria Heresi
Houston, Texas
Term expires 2024

Lionel Hillard
Dallas, Texas
Term expires 2022

Susana Lazarte
Dallas, Texas
Term expires 2020

Nancy Miertschin
Houston, Texas
Term expires 2024

Ray Moore
Granbury, Texas
Term expires 2024

Yolanda Rodriguez-Escobar
San Antonio, Texas
Term expires 2024

Demetra Tennison
Austin, Texas
Term expires 2024

Past MAC Meetings

THMP Medication Advisory Board Meetings
Past Meeting Date Approved Minutes Webcast Recording
November 5, 2021pending pending 
April 30, 2021 pending Webcast recording
January 29, 2021 pending Webcast recording 
October 16, 2020 Approved minutes (PDF) Webcast recording
July 31, 2020 Approved minutes (PDF) Webcast recording 
January 24, 2020 Approved minutes (PDF) Webcast recording
October 18, 2019 Approved minutes (PDF) Webcast recording
July 19, 2019 Approved minutes (PDF) Webcast recording
April 5, 2019 Approved minutes (PDF) Webcast recording
January 18, 2019 Approved minutes (PDF) Webcast recording

Meeting minutes are made available upon final approval by the Committee members after their next meeting. A Committee member quorum is required in order to approve the minutes at each meeting. Minutes from previous THMP Advisory Committee meetings are available upon request.

Learn more about the THMP Medication Advisory Committee: Mary Richards 1-800-255-1090

THMP homepage | FAQ | Documents | Policies | Pharmacies
Advisory Committee | Medicare | SPAP | Contact Us

Last updated January 20, 2022