• Grand Rounds contact:

    Continuing Education contact:


About Grand Rounds

John Hellerstedt6(6) 

John Hellerstedt, MD 
DSHS Commissioner and 
Grand Rounds Executive Sponsor

DSHS Grand Rounds is designed to expand our understanding of the science and evidence-based practice of population health. Each session focuses on key challenges related to a specific health topic, and explores cutting-edge scientific evidence and potential impact of different interventions.

Supported by the DSHS Center for Academic Affairs and DSHS Medical and Research Library, Grand Rounds offers two semesters of learning each year, spring and fall. Presentations are 90 minutes in length with the last twenty minutes reserved for questions and answers facilitated by a DSHS/HHSC executive. Continuing education credits/contact hours for multiple disciplines are awarded.

The Grand Rounds Planning Committee seeks out a balanced variety of topics of interest to participants. When possible, presentations include teams that present a combination of research/theory and practical application to elicit critical thinking among the participants and to integrate evidence into practice. We encourage you to share with us your suggestions for future presentations (grandrounds@dshs.texas.gov).

Feeling Grand! DSHS Grand Rounds Wins National Award

On September 26, 2018, DSHS Grand Rounds was recognized as an exemplary workforce practice by the Association of State and Territorial Health Officials (ASTHO) and the de Beaumont Foundation. The award was hosted by the 2018 PH WINS Model Policies and Practices Challenge, a joint program of the Foundation and ASTHO.

This national challenge highlights innovative programs that transform the public health field and demonstrate a strategic investment in the public health workforce. Award criteria included using a creative approach, engaging partners, and demonstrating impact, among others.

Dr. Hellerstedt accepts Award
Brian Castrucci, CEO of the de Beaumont Foundation (left) presenting Dr. John Hellerstedt, DSHS Commissioner (right) with the exemplary workforce practice award.

Grand Rounds Team!
L-R: Derrick Rodgers, Courtney Dezendorf, David McLellan, Laura Wells, Anne Tarpey, Dr. Hellerstedt, Mary Soto, Elizabeth Deleon, Denise Bortolussi, Paige Horton, Kelli Kennedy

Please send any questions or comments to grandrounds@dshs.texas.gov.

Executive Sponsor:
John Hellerstedt, MD, DSHS Commissioner

Project Director:
Mary Soto

Committee Members:
Denise Bortolussi, Director, Library Services, DSHS
Courtney Dezendorf, Director, Office of Academic Affairs, DSHS
Elizabeth Deleon
Paige Horton 
Kelli Kennedy
David McLellan
Cristell Perez
Derrick Rodgers
Anne Tarpey

About Grand Rounds
Last updated August 14, 2019