Transitioning Programs

What is the HHS Transformation?

In 2003, the 78th Texas Legislature approved House Bill 2292, consolidating 12 HHS agencies into five. In the ensuing 10 years, HHS worked to provide services under this streamlined model. When the Sunset Commission began its almost two-year analysis in 2013, that review was the first formal measure of the previous consolidation. The findings and recommendations of the Sunset review formed the basis for the 84th Texas Legislature’s directive to transform today’s HHS system.

Learn more about HHS Transformation

What does HHS Transformation mean for DSHS?

Of note, S.B. 200 and S.B. 202 of the 84th Legislature made structural changes to the Health and Human Services system overall, including transferring some DSHS functions to the Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC), the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR), the Texas Medical Board (TMB), and the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ); deregulating certain activities; and continuing DSHS as an independent but significantly focused public health agency under HHS.

Which programs will no longer be a part of DSHS?

Primarily, the programs that transitioned out of DSHS fall under three areas—Mental Health and Substance Abuse, which has moved all programs to HHSC; as well as Family and Community Health Services and Regulatory Services, both of which transferred some programs to other agencies while retaining several others at DSHS.

Mental Health and Substance Abuse (MHSA) Services

All services previously under the Mental Health and Substance Abuse Division transitioned to HHSC as Behavioral Health Services. This includes the following:

Find out more about the MHSA services that have transitioned.

Family and Community Health Services (FCHS) Division

Family and Community Health Services (FCHS) Division is now known as Community Health Improvement Division.

Many FCHS programs have remained at DSHS under Community Health Improvement Division while some other programs transitioned to HHSC. Some of the FCHS programs that are now a part of HHSC are

  • Children with Special Health Care Needs (CSHCN)
  • County Indigent Health Care Program
  • Epilepsy Services
  • Hemophilia Assistance Program (HAP)
  • Kidney Health Care (KHC)
  • Primary Health Care (PHC)
  • Texas Health Steps
  • Women, Infants, and Children (WIC)

Find out more about the FCHS programs remaining at DSHS with the Community Health Improvement Division and those transitioning to HHSC.

Regulatory Division

The Regulatory Division is now known as the Consumer Protection Division.

Regulatory programs remaining at DSHS under the Consumer Protection Division include EMS and Trauma Systems Coordination; food, drugs, and medical devices; meat safety; environmental safety; and radiation control. Many other regulatory functions have transitioned or will be transitioning to TDLR, TMB, TCEQ, and/or HHSC, or have been deregulated.

Find out more about the regulatory functions remaining at DSHS with Consumer Protection Division and those transitioning to other agencies.

Last updated May 15, 2020